g i r f t y

Board of Directors

CENIC is governed by its member institutions by means of the board of directors. Director seats are held by representatives of the CENIC Charter Associates — the segments of the California research and education community for and by which CENIC was created, as well as significant segments that joined later. Directors typically serve two-year terms.

California Community Colleges:

Tim Calhoon • Director • CCC Technology Center
Barney Gomez • Vice Chancellor of Digital Innovation & Infrastructure • CCC Chancellor’s Office
Deborah Ludford • District Director, IT Services • North Orange CCC District

California Institute of Technology:

Jin Chang • Chief Information Officer • California Institute of Technology

California K-12 System:

Todd Finnell • Superintendent • Imperial County Office of Education 
Jerry Winkler • Director, Education Data Management Division • California Department of Education 

California Public Libraries:

Michael Liang • Chief Information Officer • San Francisco Public Library
Anne W. Neville • Director, California Research Bureau • CSL
Patty Wong • City Librarian • Santa Monica Public Library

California State University:

Michael Berman • Chief Innovation Officer & Deputy CIO • CSU Chancellor's Office
Patrick Perry • Chief Information Officer • CSU Chancellor’s Office
Samuel Sudhakar • Vice President for Information Technology Services & CIO • CSU San Bernardino

Naval Postgraduate School:

Joe LoPiccolo • CIO & Director, IT & Communication Services • Naval Postgraduate School

Stanford University:

Mark Miyasaki • Executive Director, Communication Services • Stanford University 

University of California:

Tom Andriola • Vice President & CIO • UC Office of the President 
Larry Conrad • Associate Vice Chancellor & CIO • UC Berkeley
Michael Pazzani • Vice Chancellor, Research & Economic Development • UC Riverside

University of Southern California:

David Galassi • Assistant CIO • University of Southern California

Outside Directors:

Greg Bell • CEO •  Corelight
Ron Johnson • Vice President & CIO Emeritus, & Professor • University of Washington 
Larry Smarr • Director Calit2 & Professor • California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology, UCSD 


Ernest Johanson • Senior Network Design Engineer, Voice and Data Networks (IMSS) • California Institute of Technology
Jelena Mirkovic • Project Leader & Research Faculty, Information Sciences Institute • University of Southern California
Russ Selken • Executive Director, IETS • Twin Rivers Unified School District
Louis Fox • President & CEO • CENIC 



Executive Committee:

Tom Andriola, UC Office of the President (Co-chair)
Patrick Perry, CSU Chancellor's Office (Co-chair)
Deborah Ludford, North Orange CCC District (Treasurer)
Joe LoPiccolo, Naval Postgraduate School (Secretary)
Jerry Winkler, California Department of Education
Ernest Johanson, Caltech (Ex-Officio)
Jelena Mirkovic, USC (Ex-Officio)
Russ Selken, Twin Rivers USD (Ex-Officio)
John Dundas, CENIC (Ex-Officio)
Sherilyn Evans, CENIC (Ex-Officio)
Louis Fox, CENIC (Ex-Officio)
Bill Paik, CENIC (Ex-Officio)
Dave Reese, CENIC (Ex-Officio)

Audit Committee:

Michael Berman, CSU Chancellor's Office (Chair)
Deborah Ludford, North Orange County Community College District
Jerry Winkler, California Department of Education
Louis Fox, CENIC (Ex-Officio)
Bill Paik, CENIC (Ex-Officio)

Finance Committee:

Deborah Ludford, North Orange County Community College District (Chair)
Larry Conrad, UC Berkeley
Joe LoPiccolo, Naval Postgraduate School
Patrick Perry, CSU Chancellor's Office
Sam Steinhardt, Stanford University
Luis Wong, Imperial County Office of Education
Louis Fox, CENIC (Ex-Officio)
Bill Paik, CENIC (Ex-Officio)

XD/HPR Committee:

Jim Davis, UC Los Angeles
Tom DeFanti, UC San Diego
John Haskins, UC Santa Cruz
Greg Hidley, UC San Diego
Russ Hobby, UC Davis
Ron Johnson, University of Washington
Erik McCroskey, UC Berkeley
Paul Murray, Stanford University
John Silvester, University of Southern California
Larry Smarr, UC San Diego
Brian Court, CENIC
Louis Fox, CENIC
Dave Reese, CENIC